Sign up for Virtual Chats here. | View Academic Calendar 2022-23 here. | Admissions for TLP Class of 2024 are now open. Click here to apply | Admissions to BTech program are open. Deadline May 31, 2023. Click here to apply 

Dr. Ikhlaq Sidhu

Current Position

Founding Director & Chief Scientist,

Sutardja Center for Entrepreneurship & Technology,

UC Berkeley

Founder, Fung Institute for Engineering Leadership

Faculty director,

Engineering Leadership Professional Program

Visiting Faculty, Plaksha Technology Leaders Program


Ph.D. & M.S. (Northwestern University)


Ikhlaq Sidhu, Chief Scientist, and Faculty Director of UC Berkeley’s Sutardja Center for Entrepreneurship & Technology. He is the author of the book “Innovation Engineering” and the creator of the very popular Data-X Course at Berkeley. He holds 75 patents in internet communication technologies. Dr. Sidhu developed the Entrepreneurship & Technology area at the #1 public university in the world, the Berkeley Method of Entrepreneurship (for new ventures), and the Berkeley Method of Innovation Leadership (for technical leaders).

He serves on many advisory boards. He received his bachelor’s degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and his masters’ degree and doctorate in Electrical Engineering from Northwestern University.

Major Affiliations:

Board of Directors, Qatar Foundation, 2019

International Advisory Board, BII Business School, Norway, since 2019

Honorary / Visiting: Chair Professor in Computer Science and Physics (joint appointment), HKBU, Hong Kong, 2018

Faculty Committee for Lawrence Hall of Science, UC Berkeley, since 2016

Board of Trustees of the Hamad Bin Khalifa University, Qatar, since 2016

Faculty Director’s Council, Jacob’s Institute for Design Innovation, UC Berkeley since 2018 and Review Committee for Jacobs Institute for Design Innovation in 2020

Master of Design Faculty Advisory Council UC Berkeley since 2019

Advisor X-Fund, Advisor Onset Ventures

Fellow, Applied Innovation Institute, since 7/ 2012 (501.3c),

Founder, Innovation Engineering, Advisory Practice, 2010,

Member IEEE since 1995.


The IEEE Major Innovation Award (2018)

The IEOR Emerging Area Professor Award (2009)

3Com Inventor of the Year (1999)