Admissions to Plaksha Technology Leaders Program are now open. See details here. | Admissions to B.Tech program starting Aug 2022 are now open. Click here to know more. | Sign up for Virtual Chats here. | Infinity starts on 17th January. Know more here.

Dr. Ashish Nanda

Current Position

Former Director, IIM Ahmedabad

Senior Lecturer, Harvard Business School

Academic Advisory Board, Plaksha


Harvard Business School (Ph.D. Business Economics) 

IIM Ahmedabad (PGDM) 

IIT Delhi (B.Tech. Electrical)


Ashish is a faculty member at Harvard Business School. From 2013 to 2017, he was Director of Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad. Before joining IIMA, he was Robert Braucher Professor of Practice at Harvard Law School for seven years. Nanda is a Distinguished Fellow, Harvard Law School Executive Education and was the Officiating Director, IIM Nagpur from its inception in 2015 to 2017.

During his stint as Director, IIMA, Nanda has written on, and participated in conferences and task forces related to, administration of higher education institutions, particularly Indian professional schools.

He has published case studies and articles on professional services in three primary streams – management of professional service organizations, professionals’ labor markets, and professionalism.


Named 10th Distinguished Global Thinker by IILM, New Delhi, India, 2016.

Awarded Bharat Asmita Acharya Shreshta for Teaching by Maharashtra Institute of Technology University, Pune, India, 2016.

Recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award from the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, 2015.

Named Robert Braucher Chair at Harvard Law School, 2008.

Awarded Best Conference Paper Prize from the Strategic Management Society, 2002.

Named Henry B. Arthur Fellow by Harvard Business School, 1999.

Recipient of the McGillicuddy Doctoral Fellowship from Harvard University, 1988.

Awarded Director's Gold Medal by the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad, 1983.

Awarded President of India Gold Medal by Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, 1981.

Awarded President of India Gold Medal in All India Higher Secondary, 1976.

Recipient of Senior Science Talent (1975), Junior Science Talent (1973), and All India Merit Certificate (1971), from the Ministry of Human Resource and Development, India.